Tequila Mockingbird by Jillian Chantal

I have this wonderful friend, Jillian Chantal, whom I’ve only met once, but consider to be one of my closest friends. I should qualify that I’ve only met her once in person. We “talk” regularly through email and blogs and have shared many ups and downs in life and in this business of writing over the past several years. So today, I thought I’d showcase one of her books (my personal favorite). Except it looks like Jillian’s been taken over (again) by one of her characters:

TequilaMockingbird_MEDHello, My name is Kes Falco and I am the hero in Tequila Mockingbird by Jillian Chantal. Jillian was invited to do a guest post here but she’s been lazy and so I thought I would take over and talk a little about my adventure in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico with a stuffy lady lawyer who really got on my nerves.
Have you ever seen that movie called Romancing the Stone? You know, the one with Michael Douglas, the adventurer who has mad jungle skills? The one where Kathleen Turner gets all over his case and drives him nuts as he attempts to assist her?
Well, this book is nothing like that unless you consider a tale about a handsome (cough, cough) man in the jungle who is slowly being tortured by a woman who only wants to save her sister from some horrible fate but seems instead to always cause the man grief to be the same kind of story.
I am an agent with the Drug Enforcement Agency and work undercover against the drug trade coming from Mexico. When a former friend’s sister is abducted, I am tasked with trying to get the young woman back but I am saddled with the sister who can’t seem to forgive me for a sin I didn’t commit. We embark on a journey that is some parts danger and some parts fun (Okay, yeah, I admit it, some of the time, she is tolerable).
Here’s an excerpt from the story- this is when Rachel arrives in Mexico from Los Angeles after her sister has been abducted:
Rachel made her own way to baggage claim and through customs. She’d packed a large bag to leave at the hotel where she planned to get a room. She also had a medium size backpack to carry any essentials she might need on the quest to find Annette. She hoped the person Orry called for assistance could recommend a hotel and that the federales that he knew would be helpful.
She grabbed her large suitcase from the carousel and turned to see if she could figure out who might be trying to find her in order to pick her up. Her eyes scanned the crowd. When she spotted a tall man in jeans and a white dress shirt with the sleeves rolled up to the elbow leaning with his shoulder on the wall, she did a double take. She couldn’t believe it.
She stalked toward him as he stood grinning that lopsided smile that hadn’t ever affected her before last week. Damn. He did look good but what the heck was he doing in Puerto Vallarta? She couldn’t help but wonder why he’d agree to help. She hadn’t been exactly friendly in the past and there was that shared kiss and her slap between them now. He looked happy enough to see her but she still approached him with trepidation.
She dragged her bag over and stopped right in front of him. “Hello Kes. What are you doing here?”
“I live here.”
“ Ha ha. You’re so witty. Now tell me the truth. Did Orry call you to meet me down here?”
“I really do live here, Rachel. I moved down when Deidre and I broke up. I’m very happy and settled in. I’ve acclimated myself to the area and have contacts with lots of different locals. Orry thought I might could assist in finding Annette if she’s here. I tend to agree since I do know people all over the area. I’m glad to help if you think you can work with me without discussing Deidre. As much as I care about your sister and your family, I won’t be badgered by you about my personal life. Can you deal with that?”
“I can. I want to find her and I can keep my mouth shut if that’s what it takes.”
“Then let’s go.” Kes picked up her suitcase and led her out the sliding doors to the parking lot.
She followed him until he stopped at an old truck. She laughed. “This is what you’re driving?”
‘Sure. Why not? It’s suited to my life here.” He shrugged and tossed her bag into the open bed.
“It’s a big step down from your old beemer.”
“No need for a BMW here. I spend a lot of time in the hills and even though that car had some power, it’s woefully inadequate for the mountains here.”
“And this old heap is adequate?”
“It sure is.” He nodded to her door. “Get in.”

Thanks for allowing me to come by today and visit. It was a pleasure and I hope Jillian is grateful that I saved her some work but I doubt it. She can be an ungrateful wretch on occasion. Peace out, Kes.

You can contact Jillian here: http://www.JillianChantal.com
https://www.facebook.com/jillian.chantal

Amazon page: http://www.amazon.com/Jillian-Chantal/e/B008DWCRVW/ref=ntt_dp_epwbk_0
Buy link: http://www.amazon.com/Tequila-Mockingbird-Jillian-Chantal-ebook/dp/B00JU73KLA/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&qid=1402069575&sr=8-5&keywords=Jillian+Chantal
Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/Jillian-Chantal?store=allproducts&keyword=Jillian+Chantal

9 comments on “Tequila Mockingbird by Jillian Chantal

  1. [I think I’m in love.] This in-your-face beautiful, tough-guy type usually isn’t mine, but dang,Lady, you have put this man in my head. I haven’t gotten to the book but now I am almost afraid to! (I’ll break down…this one I will save for when I have real ‘me’ time.)

    • Author says:

      Thanks for commenting, Tonette. I appreciate you calling me a beautiful, tough guy, too. I think that’s a nice thing to say to a DEA agent with a scruffy ponytail. Kes Falco

  2. Author says:

    Hey, Laurie. I see Jillian gets all the credit here- what am I? Just the eye candy??? Kes

  3. Author says:

    Hey Laurie-thanks for letting Kes take over the post. I WAS going to do one but when I started, he told me all about this hijacking and I was ready to kick his rearend but I figured, what the heck, let him shine a minute or two. Jillian

  4. Lavada Dee says:

    Wow,,, a great post. Makes me want to turn to the next page.

  5. Lace Daltyn says:

    Wow, I leave for a few hours and everyone shows up to comment. Lol. Kes’ blog is great, isn’t it? And Jillian gets just as much credit as you do, Kes. Well, actually, I think a little more. Yes, you’re the brawn, but she’s the brains.
    Ummm, Jillian? Who’s Laurie? (lol – too many alter egos)

    • Author says:

      You’re right, Lace- Poor Jillian needs to get SOME credit before she goes to the loony bin- It’ll make her feel better since she called you by someone else’s name- maybe if we let her have some credit, she will be back to her old self soon and not get so confused. Maybe…. Nah. Kes

Leave a Reply

